Are You A Victim?

How long have you felt you were a victim? How long have you allowed yourself to be victimized? Was it your spouse, partner, family, friends that left you feeling victimized? Was it your boss that made you feel that way?

Today is the first step toward no longer feeling like a victim and no longer accepting that maltreatment from others who have probably become accustomed to treating you that way.

I did a little word study and found:

Victimized             abuse

mistreatment        dysfunctional relationships

oppression            liberation

happiness             freedom

self love

Asking you a few questions that I am examining myself:

  1. Did you think it was normal behavior to be treated this way?
  2. To be treated like you were less than the other person?
  3. Did you dislike the feeling but also feel powerless in how to stop it?
  4. Did you try to stop it only to find you felt guilty?
  5. Did you somehow feel when all was said and done you deserved to be treated this way?
  6. Were you like myself attracted to people that mistreated you?
  7. Did you find people who were strong-willed were the ones you were attracted to?
  8. Did you find like myself they were strong in your eyes but realize that they used that against you?

Okay, so today is the day we let go of that need to be sorry for everything we say and do. Today is the day when we say no more or simply stand firm silently that this treatment is no longer allowed from anyone and especially ourselves!

Does this need to be with someone we view as strong because we feel weak or is that because we have allowed others to push their view upon us? Or was that not their view at all but our view of ourselves?

Today it’s time to break free of victimization and oppression. It is now our day of liberation. We have a choice. I will say it again. We have a choice!

Choose Victim mentality

or

Choose Victor mentality

There is freedom in your choice – choose self – love not self loathe.

Consider the below:

V – Voluntarily submit Read Romans 12:1-2

I – Identify our character defects – Proverbs 16:9

C – Change our mind – 2 Corinthians 5:17

T – Turn over our character defects to God James – 4:10

O – One day at a time – Matthew 6:34

R – Recovery is a process – Philippians 1:6

Y – You must choose to change – James 4:6-8

From (Celebrate Recovery Principle 5)

Go to God now and tell him where you are in this journey of no longer wanting to feel like a victim. Go to him and ask him to help you change your thoughts. To bring your thoughts into captivity one by one. To help you break the cycle.

Romans 12:2 is a place to start: Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.

Ask God to fill your mind now with his truth about who you are in Christ. You are a child of the living God. You are a co-heir to the kingdom of heaven. Think on that the next time you start to feel less. You are royal.

2Corinthians 6:18: And I will be your Father, and you will be my sons and daughters, says the LORD Almighty.” NLT

Romans 8:17: If we are his children, we are also God’s heirs. If we share in Christ’s suffering in order to share his glory, we are heirs together with him. God’s Word Translation

Action Plan:

  • Ask yourself the questions – have you felt the above, have you allowed the above?
  • Make a choice – Victim or Victor?
  • Read over the scriptures references and commit them to memory – jot them down on 3×5’s. That works for me and I keep them with me as I learn them – to read over and over. Post it on your wall in your room or on your fridge.
  • Talk to God and ask him to renew your mind! He is your Father. Remember You Are Royal!
7 thoughts on “Are You A Victim?

  1. Truly awesome!!! I was a victim of domestic violence and back then when I was in victim mode this would’ve been very helpful for me to read..I am certain someone who needs to read this will be blessed when they do. GOD BLESS YOU!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Andi for your time to read it and your wonderful comment. My hope is that it will help someone. I too of course am a victim who is learning not to have that victim mentality even years later. As you probably know already – emotional scars – hidden from the world are the hardest to heal. I have to say however, that if I was meant to share my faith thru the circumstances – then I’m honored chose me. There are much worse situations out there than mine, yet my goal is for everyone who reads this blog to realize how truly valuable they are and there is hope…even the faintest light is the hope we should move toward. I’m so honored for your comments and please feel free to share. God bless you ….Andi! I pray that your story also will serve other’s healing as I’m sure it already has. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My story started when I was 6 years old until I was 36…I was a victim of life’s circumstances and abuse..all types..so I know what you’re saying when you talk about those emotional scars..I had years of therapy and then my hero showed up and saved me..God! He saved us..you and I so we could share and help others overcome their own nightmares. I am honored when I meet another survivor because I know it is not easy. Keep sharing away sister!! If I found you on here..others will too. GOD BLESS YOU!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you for sharing your story with me. I am sure it is only a small piece of what you have gone through. I just read the same thought – and your words echo’d the blog – and a word that holds some significance to me. Hero = God! Hallelujah for your faith and your story! I was saved at age 5 and did a lot of backsliding, received rescues many times over….God is amazing and he sends to my life the most amazing people of which you are one! I am truly honored to have met you here…..Yes, God saved us for such a time as this… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Amen and amen!! I’m a newbie..only recently baptized in August of last year..😊
        Again. .a blessing to have read this and to have met you through here. May God continue to bless you and your blogs!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Congratulations…for giving your heart to God! He will never steer you wrong! Think about it…the Creator – Our Father…and you are co-heir to Christ in the Kingdom of God. You are royalty! …and we are sisters! 🙂 God bless you Andi! I will look forward to reading more of your blog….:)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

