How May I Serve You Today Lord? (repost)

I woke today to some sad news. A local anchor/man with a special brand on the ‘weather’ and who has been visually a man about town and trusted face in my community was found to have passed to his new home, quite simply He passed on. How this shook me. From the time as a young girl, his face was on the news. Even though I didn’t know him personally, everyone ‘knew’ him. He lived very nearby and I may have passed him by in the car each day not even realizing it. Yet what a mark he left on my heart. How he will be missed. It brings me once again to how important I believe it is to leave a legacy and sharing our stories. His legacy will be a strong one. You will be missed Skip!

How are you making an impact in your surrounding area, or even in ‘blogger town’? I guess at this age I think about this more and more. Sometimes I feel I’ve missed so much time and the news today (he was only a few years older than myself) once again reminded me of how short our stay here on this earth really is. I had started to pray differently in the last few weeks and I wanted to share this with you. This is my new morning regime.  As soon as I put my feet on the floor even if my eyes are still closed, instead of saying the Jabez prayer first and thanking God for my rest and a new day. I will start it like this:

Thank you Father for a new day!

Thank you Father for my rest!

How can I serve you today?

How can I be a light to someone of your choosing today Father?

Use me Father! I am yours!

Bless me indeed!

Enlarge my territory.

That your hand be with me.

That you keep me from evil!

….and that I may cause no pain!

Place on my family and I the armor of God. The breastplate of righteousness. The belt of truth. The helmet of salvation. The sword of the spirit. The shield of faith extinguishing the fiery darts of the evil ones and the shoes of peace.

God send your army of angels to walk along-side of my family and I today into tomorrow and thank you for loving me for me!

Help me to be all you want me to be! I will trust You!

Think about the impact you will make on the world today (your family, friends, community). How will you make a mark? What light can you shine for the Lord above today and to whom? Have you asked God how he would like you to serve him today?

….Pressing On>>>

Leave a Reply

