Who We Hear When We Are Quiet (repost)

I was reading (the below) from a newly found website and reading the piece about Quiet Time.

God wants all people to be saved, but Satan wants us all to perish. Praise God because His plan is greater! Satan is no match for God, but he can trouble God’s children, and he does. The next time you are finding it difficult to get away from the noise and get alone with God, remember who is standing in your way. Then remember who is greater!

Quiet Time – The Inner Challenge
Quiet time involves an inner state of being, as well as an outward condition. Have you ever noticed that when you sit down to read your Bible or pray, your mind begins to wander or you suddenly remember what you needed at the grocery store? Inner “noise” can be just as troublesome as outer noise when it comes to having quiet time with God.

Our own human weaknesses combine with the enemy’s efforts to keep us from God. There is a reason he is known as the Prince of the Power of the Air! But again, God is greater still. Defeating the inner noise can be done, but it requires commitment and discipline.

Quiet Time – What’s the Big Deal? Why Is It Important?
Quiet time can be so difficult to prioritize. It’s tempting to make excuses or just not bother. Preparing our hearts to hear from God requires a focused effort. Noise, whether outside or inside, distracts us. If we fail to understand the importance of having a regular, committed quiet time with God, we are not likely to hear His voice…the one that whispers, “This is the way; walk in it” (Isaiah 30:21).

21 Your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying,
“This is the way, walk in it,”
Whenever you d turn to the right hand
Or whenever you turn to the left.

http://www.allaboutgod.com/quiet-time.htm

I was trying to focus on being quiet as the piece suggested. I was trying to focus. Have you ever realized just like the piece above indicated that it is sometimes really hard to do just that – concentrate on being quiet? I was seeking to find that peace from God before undertaking a new project. In my spirit I was asking God to direct me and in my spirit/mind’s eye, I heard…

“you don’t have to sit with God everyday – look where it got your Mom. She read and spent time with him every day and and she still died.”

Now I didn’t hear it really long or drawn out like the sentences I typed. It was in a matter of only a few seconds, but I heard it plainly – “you don’t have to – your Mom died”. Wow – that was not God’s voice I can say that for sure.

It really is true our inner talk and the way the evil one can try to throw us off course in our thoughts is not a maybe…it is a definite but still I hadn’t heard it quite that loudly in a very long time!

So God must have something really great to show me/teach me if there is such opposition. At least that is how I see it. So study on in quiet I will and maybe the next voice I hear will be that ‘quiet-small still voice’. I might even hear the words “carry on my good and faithful servant.

Leave a Reply

